Local Election Results


Griffin Brumbelow, Writer


In addition to the Presidential race, there were many local political races in Fayette County. In the Presidential race, 53% of Fayette County voters cast ballots for Republican Donald Trump, while the other 46% voted for Democrat Joe Biden. Incumbent Barry Babb secured another 4 years as Sheriff of Fayette County beating Democrat Chris Pigors by 15,000 votes. Fayette County Commissioner Charles Oddo beat out Democrat William Lightle with 58% of the vote.

Randy Hough was elected as a new Board of Education member. Additionally, both Tyrone and Brooks held special elections for vacant town council seats. In Brooks, Kay Brumbelow defeated Don Britt with 64% of the popular vote. Finally, in Tyrone Billy Campbell was elected as the new council member.